‘The Amazing Race’ season 31 spoilers: ‘Big Brother,’ ‘Survivor’ and ‘TAR’ teams in clash of reality TV stars

Season 31 of “The Amazing Race” began on Sunday, June 10 with 11 teams drawn from previous seasons of “TAR” as well as two other CBS reality competition series: “Survivor” and “Big Brother.” Host Phil Keoghan was on hand at the startling line in Hermosa Beach, California to send these 22 contestants in a race around the world.

Keoghan is confident that fans will like what they see. As he revealed in a recent interview, “we’re absolutely going to be trying some new things.” However, he assures us that “fans will get something of what they want based on the original format, us getting back to our roots.” And this perennial Emmy nominee readily admits, “I’m feeling confident that we have the right ingredients to do something interesting.”

SEE ‘The Amazing Race 30’ winners Jessica and Cody: After ‘Big Brother,’ this was our redemption project

Five of the teams have competed on previous seasons of “The Amazing Race” with varying results:

Colin Guinn and Christie Woods (Season 5: second place);

Art Velez and John James “JJ” Carrell (Season 20: second place);

Tyler Oakley and Korey Kuhl (Season 28: third place);

Leo Temory and Jamal Zadran (Season 23: fourth place); and

Becca Droz and Floyd Pierce (Season 29: fifth place).

WATCH Phil Keoghan (‘The Amazing Race’): Season 30 was a ‘jolt of Vitamin B’ that rejuvenated the show 

Three teams are drawn from “Big Brother” contestants, with one of those also having competed on “TAR.”

Victor Arroyo (Season 18) and Nicole Franzel (Seasons 16, 18);

Britney Haynes (Seasons 12, 14) and Janelle Pierzina (Seasons 6, 7, 14); and

Rachel Reilly (Seasons 12, 13; TAR Seasons 20 and 24) and Elissa Slater (Season 15);

PREDICT the Emmy nominees and winners now; change them until July 12

And another three teams are made up of former “Survivor” contestants:

Rupert Boneham (Pearl Islands, All-Stars, Heroes vs. Villains, and Blood vs. Water) and Laura Boneham (Blood vs. Water);

Chris Hammons and Bret LaBelle (Millennials vs. Gen X); and

Corinne Kaplan (Gabon, Caramoan) and Eliza Orlins (Vanuatu, Fans vs. Favorites).

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Be sure to make your Emmy predictions today so that Hollywood insiders can see how their TV shows and performers are faring in our odds. You can keep changing your predictions as often as you like until just before nominees are announced on July 12. And join in the fun debate over the 2018 Emmys taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our television forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby