Fork yes! ‘The Good Place’ enjoys heavenly Golden Globes haul with nominations for series and Kristen Bell

It may have taken three seasons, but “The Good Place” can finally call itself a Golden Globe-nominated series.

When the nominations were announced Thursday, December 6, NBC’s cerebral comedy found itself recognized in two categories: Best TV Comedy Series and Best TV Comedy Actress for Kristen Bell. As the Hollywood Foreign Press Association is notorious for only nominating the newest and shiniest shows, it’s no surprise that three-year-old “The Good Place” is this year’s oldest Best TV Comedy Series nominee; it competes against last year’s winner “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” and freshman laffers “Barry,” “The Kominsky Method” and “Kidding.”

Bell, a TV favorite who’s starred in everything from “Veronica Mars” to “House of Lies,” now enjoys her first career Golden Globe bid for her role as Eleanor Shellstrop, a bad person who tries to become good after she dies and goes to hell. While Bell’s co-lead Ted Danson was snubbed at the Globes, he was honored with an Emmy nomination this fall and won the Critics’ Choice Award back in January for playing demon Michael.

Joining Bell in this year’s Golden Globe lineup for Best TV Comedy Actress are Candice Bergen (“Murphy Brown”), Alison Brie (“GLOW”), Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”) and Debra Messing (“Will & Grace”). Brosnahan won this category last year for the breakout season of “Mrs. Maisel” while Bergen is a prior two-time champ (1988 and 1991) for the original run of “Murphy Brown.” Brie and Messing are former nominees hoping to hear their names called for the first time.

Thanks to these two Golden Globes nominations for “The Good Place” NBC leads all broadcast networks with three total bids (the third being for Messing). CBS has one nom (for Bergen), while ABC and Fox were completely shut out. FX was the big nominations leader with a whopping 10 nominations.

Find out whether “The Good Place” and Bell will take home Golden Globes when Sandra Oh and Andy Samberg host the 76th annual ceremony on Sunday, January 6, 2019 on NBC.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby