Tony Awards announce first round of eligibility rulings for the 2018-2019 Season: ‘The Boys in the Band,’ Pretty Woman,’ and more

The Tony Awards Administration Committee met for the first time in the 2018-2019 Broadway season, and announced the first round of Tony Awards eligibility rulings. Seven productions were discussed at this meeting: “The Boys in the Band,” “Straight White Men,” “Head Over Heels,” “Gettin’ the Band Back Together,” “Pretty Woman,” “Bernhardt/Hamlet,” and “The Nap.”

The Tonys committee made the following determinations:

“The Boys in the Band” will be considered a revival per the “classic” rule and eligible for Best Play Revival.

Jim Parsons will be eligible for Lead Actor in a Play for “The Boys in the Band.”

Julian Crouch (scenic designer) and Andrew Lazarow (projection designer) will be considered jointly eligible for Best Scenic Design of a Musical for “Head Over Heels.”

Mitchell Jarvis will be eligible for Lead Actor in a Musical for “Gettin’ the Band Back Together.”

Samantha Barks and Andy Karl will be eligible for Lead Actress in a Musical and Lead Actor in a Musical, respectively, for “Pretty Woman.”

Dylan Baker and Jason Butler Harner will be eligible for Featured Actor in a Play for “Bernhardt/Hamlet.”

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

The Tony Awards Administration Committee will meet three more times throughout the season to determine eligibility for the 73rd Annual Tony Awards. The ceremony will take place at Radio City Music Hall on Sunday June 9th, with a live telecast to air on CBS.

As a reminder, The Tony Awards Administration Committee only makes determinations when they differ from the official billing of each show. So, performers billed above the title are considered “Lead” while those billed below the title are considered “Featured,” unless otherwise noted above.

No determinations were announced regarding the casts of “Straight White Men,” “Head Over Heels,” or “The Nap.” Since no performer is billed above the title for any of these three shows, everyone in these casts will compete in the relevant Featured Actor/Actress categories. This includes Armie Hammer, Josh Charles, and Stephen Payne of “Straight White Men,” Jeremy Kushnier, Bonnie Milligan, Peppermint, Alexandra Socha, and Rachel York of “Head Over Heels,” and Ben Schnetzer, Alexandra Billings, and Johanna Day of “The Nap.”

DISCUSS The new season with Broadway insiders in our notorious forums

More News from GoldDerby