Witney Carson would be the 8th pro to win ‘Dancing with the Stars’ more than once

Fifteen pros have won “Dancing with the Stars” through 26 seasons, one of them being Witney Carson. The Season 19 champ, with Alfonso Ribeiro, is back in the final with Milo Manheim, putting her one step closer to becoming just the eighth pro to claim multiple Mirrorball trophies.

Of the 15, seven pros have won “Dancing” more than once. The undisputed king of “Dancing” is Derek Hough, who has won a record six times, including going back-to-back twice. The two-time Emmy winner also never finished worse than sixth place, which happened twice, during his 17-season run on the show, which might be even more impressive.

No one else has come remotely close to even matching Hough’s record, as the other six multiple champs — Cheryl Burke, Julianne Hough, Mark Ballas, Kym Johnson, Peta Murgatroyd and Val Chmerkovskiy — just have two victories. Burke and Chmerkovskiy were both chasing a third win this season, but Chmerkovskiy was eliminated in Week 3, with Nancy McKeon, while Burke, who seemed poised for at least a final showing, was shockingly axed on Monday’s semifinal with Juan Pablo Di Pace on the heels of two perfect scores.

SEE Juan Pablo Di Pace and Cheryl Burke also think they deserved to be in the ‘Dancing with the Stars’ final

With Season 26 champ Jenna Johnson also getting booted with Joe “Grocery Store Joe” Amabile, that leaves Carson as the only pro in the final four who’s taken home the Mirrorball. Sharna Burgess is seeking her first win in her fifth final after three runner-up and one third-place finishes. Alan Bersten, in his third pro season, and Keo Motsepe, in his eighth pro season, are first-time finalists. Motsepe’s “Dancing” resume has been the opposite of Hough’s, having gone home in the first three weeks five times in a regular season.

Will Carson, who finished third with Frankie Muniz in Season 25, have an edge with her winning experience? Probably, or at the very least she knows how to handle the finals occasion unlike Bersten and Motsepe. But don’t count any of these non-winners out: The past three seasons have had first-time pro champs.

Currently, our odds have Motsepe prevailing with Evanna Lynch, followed by Carson and Manheim, Bersten and Alexis Ren, and Burgess and Bobby Bones.

See all the pro “Dancing” winners below.

Six wins
Derek Hough (Seasons 7, 10, 11, 16, 17, 21)

Two wins
Cheryl Burke (Seasons 2, 3)
Julianne Hough (Seasons 4, 5)
Mark Ballas (Seasons 6, 8)
Kym Johnson (Seasons 9, 12)
Peta Murgatroyd (Seasons 14, 22)
Val Chmerkovskiy (Seasons 20, 23)

One win
Alec Mazo (Season 1)
Karina Smirnoff (Season 13)
Tony Dovolani (Season 15)
Maksim Chmerkovskiy (Season 18)
Witney Carson (Season 19)
Emma Slater (Season 24)
Lindsay Arnold (Season 25)
Jenna Johnson (Season 26)

PREDICT ‘Dancing with the Stars’ now; change them until Monday night’s show

Be sure to make your predictions so that the contestants can see how they’re faring in our racetrack odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before the next episode airs every Monday on ABC. You’ll compete to win a spot on our leaderboard and eternal bragging rights. See our contest rules and sound off with other fans in our reality TV forum. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby