2019 SAG Awards: How were the winners decided by the Screen Actors Guild?

While there are 7,902 voting members of the motion picture academy who can cast ballots for the Academy Awards, there are 121,000 members of SAG. Rather than use the complicated counting methods employed by the Oscars to determine nominations and winners, the Screen Actors Guild Awards sticks to the first past the post method.

The SAG Awards nominees for the 25th annual awards on Jan. 27 were determined by a randomly selected nominations panel comprising 2,500 members. The nominees are the top five vote-getters in each of the six film and nine TV categories. The winners revealed during the ceremony that aired live on TNT and TBS are those who garnered the most tick marks in a second round of balloting.

Seven years ago, the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) merged with the American Federation of Radio and Television Artists (AFTRA). At the time of the merger, SAG had just under 100,000 members. Of these, approximately 40,000 were also AFTRA members and already eligible to vote on the SAG Awards. As the AFTRA membership list totaled 60,000, that meant 20,000 new voters were added to the ranks of SAG Awards voters.

SEE 2019 Oscars: Who are the 7,902 voting members who decide the Academy Awards?

Everyone in the combined union can vote for the winners of both the film and TV Screen Actors Guild Awards. Until 2017, some of those one-time AFTRA folk — like the talking heads on CNN and Fox News — were eligible to take part in the nominating process to determine the best thespians on television. But the guild changed the rules so that both committees are composed of only those rank and film members over the age of 16 who are listed in the database as an actor/performer, dancer singer or stunt person.

SEE 2019 SAG Awards: All the nominees in 6 film and 9 TV races

Be sure to check out how our experts rank this year’s Oscar contenders. Then take a look at the most up-to-date combined odds before you make your own Oscar predictions. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until winners are announced on February 24.

More News from GoldDerby