Alfonso Cuaron becomes 92nd Best Director winner, joining Guillermo Del Toro, Martin Scorsese, Steven Spielberg and…

Alfonso Cuaron just added another Best Director Oscar to his shelf with his victory for “Roma,” a personal story about growing up in Mexico City in the 1970s. The win came just five years after his first one for “Gravity” (2013). He became the 92nd person in history to clinch that prize, beating out Yorgos Lanthimos (“The Favourite”), Spike Lee (“BlacKkKlansman”), Adam McKay (“Vice”), and Pawel Pawlikowski (“Cold War”). Tour our photo gallery above of every Academy Award winner for Best Director, from the most recent winner to the very first one.

At the first Academy Awards ceremony in 1927, two awards were given for directing: one for comedy (Lewis Milestone for “Two Arabian Nights”), the other for drama (Frank Borzage for “7th Heaven”). The next year, only one prize was given.

Since 1927, only 21 directors have won this category more than once. John Ford holds the record for most victories with four: “The Informer” (1935), “The Grapes of Wrath” (1940) “How Green Was My Valley” (1941), and “The Quiet Man” (1952). Frank Capra and William Wyler are close behind with three each. Capra’s wins came for “It Happened One Night” (1934), “Mr. Deeds Goes to Town” (1936), and “You Can’t Take It With You” (1938), while Wyler prevailed for “Mrs. Miniver” (1942), “The Best Years of Our Lives” (1946), and “Ben-Hur” (1959). 18 other directors have received two Best Director trophies:

Frank Borzage: “7th Heaven” (1927) and “Bad Girl” (1931)

Alfonso Cuaron: “Gravity” (2013) and “Roma” (2018)

Clint Eastwood: “Unforgiven” (1992) and “Million Dollar Baby” (2004)

Milos Forman: “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” (1975) and “Amadeus” (1984)

Alejandro G. Inarritu: “Birdman” (2014) and “The Revenant” (2015)

Elia Kazan: “Gentleman’s Agreement” (1947) and “A Streetcar Named Desire” (1951)

David Lean: “The Bridge on the River Kwai” (1957) and “Lawrence of Arabia” (1962)

Ang Lee: “Brokeback Mountain” (2005) and “Life of Pi” (2012)

Frank Lloyd: “The Divine Lady” (1928) and “Cavalcade” (1933)

Joseph L. Mankiewicz: “A Letter to Three Wives” (1949) and “All About Eve” (1950)

Leo McCarey: “The Awful Truth” (1937) and “Going My Way” (1944)

Lewis Milestone: “Two Arabian Nights” (1927) and “All Quiet on the Western Front” (1930)

Steven Spielberg: “Schindler’s List” (1993) and “Saving Private Ryan” (1998)

George Stevens: “A Place in the Sun” (1951) and “Giant” (1956)

Oliver Stone: “Platoon” (1986) and “Born on the Fourth of July” (1989)

Billy Wilder: “The Lost Weekend” (1945) and “The Apartment” (1960)

Robert Wise: “West Side Story” (1961) and “The Sound of Music” (1965)

Fred Zinnemann: “From Here to Eternity” (1953) and “A Man for All Seasons” (1966)

Ford, Mankiewicz, and Inarritu hold the rare distinction of winning in consecutive years: Ford in 1940 and 1941, Mankiewicz in 1949 and 1950, and Inarritu in 2014 and 2015.

Take a look back at every Best Director winner at the Oscars, and see if your favorite filmmakers were up to the Academy’s standards.

PREDICT the Emmy nominees now; change them until July 16

In the near future, you can check out how our experts rank this year’s Emmy contenders. Then take a look at the most up-to-date combined odds before you make your own 2019 Emmy predictions. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until just before nominations are announced on July 16.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby