‘American Idol’ will air live nationwide with real-time voting beginning with Top 10 episode on Sunday April 21

ABC had such success with airing “American Idol” live coast-to-coast in 2018 that it is doing the same again this year, beginning with the Top 10 episode on Sunday, April 21. This is the same point in the competition that saw this reality competition series go live nationwide last year for the first time in the history of the franchise.

Last year’s Top 10 episode had all the contestants singing songs from Disney movies hoping to get enough votes from America to stay in the competition. With the network owned by that studio, we could well see that theme returning. Everyone watching across the country will get to vote in real time for their favorite singers and then see the results.

This bold move will mean that “American Idol” will air live in each time zone as follows:
Eastern: 8 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Central: 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Mountain: 6 p.m.to 8 p.m.
Pacific: 5 p.m.to 7 p.m.
Hawaii: 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

SEE ‘American Idol’ spoilers: Which men made the Top 40 showcase round on season 17, what songs did they sing and who made it through?

By the end of the Top 10 episode, two artists will have been told by host Ryan Seacrest that they have been eliminated. For those on the west coast who don’t want to watch live, the show will be repeat in its usual 8 p.m. time slot with a warning that voting is closed.

SEE ‘American Idol’ spoilers: Which women made the Top 40 showcase round on season 17, what songs did they sing and who made it through?

The Top 8 will perform on April 28 with another two acts eliminated followed by the Top 6 on May 5, the Top 4 on May 12 and the Top 3 on the May 19 finale that will conclude with the crowning of the season 17 winner.

SEE ‘American Idol’: Everything you need to know about season 17 – start date, judges, format changes

More News from GoldDerby

Loading