Brooks and Dunn, Ray Stevens, Jerry Bradley elected as 2019 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees

Country superstar duo Brooks and Dunn will be the latest inductees into the Country Music Hall of Fame. The duo was announced on Monday morning in Nashville along with singer/songwriter Ray Stevens and producer/executive Jerry Bradley will be inducted at the 2019 ceremony in October. Watch the official video above.

Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn are two-time Grammy winners, sold over 30 million albums and charted 20 number one songs. Those tunes have included “Boot Scootin’ Boogie,” “My Maria,” “Brand New Man” and “Believe.” Stevens made his debut in 1962 and has had such hits as “Everything is Beautiful,” “Gitarzan” and “The Streak.” Bradley ran RCA Records from 1973 to 1982 and was a longtime member of the Country Music Association board. He follows both his father Owen Bradley and uncle Harold Bradley into Hall of Fame induction.

SEE ACM Awards host Reba McEntire was ‘disapointed’ by nominations: ‘I wanted to hear some women in there’ [WATCH]

The criteria is pretty simple to get in but it’s an exclusive group since only 2-3 people are inducted each year. One person will be from the Modern Era category (an artist who came to prominence at least 20 years ago). Another will be from the Veterans Era (an artist who came to prominence at least 45 years ago). A third inductee would be a non-performer, songwriter or musician (since this one rotates, it will be a non-performer such as an executive or industry writer for 2019).

The artists chosen last year were Ricky Skaggs (modern), Dottie West (veterans) and Johnny Gimble (musician). Other recent inductees have included Garth Brooks, Roy Clark, Charlie Daniels, Alan Jackson, Barbara Mandrell, Reba McEntire, Ronnie Milsap, Oak Ridge Boys, Kenny Rogers and Randy Travis.

On our recent speculation article, we expected that Brooks and Dunn might be getting in this year. Stevens was quite a welcome surprise, though. Here were the candidates we thought would be under consideration before today’s announcement:

Kenny Chesney
Brooks & Dunn
Larry Gatlin and the Gatlin Brothers
The Judds
Tim McGraw
Marty Stuart
Travis Tritt
Shania Twain
Keith Whitley
Dwight Yoakam

Clint Black
Rosanne Cash
Crystal Gayle
Toby Keith
Martina McBride
Lorrie Morgan
Gene Watson

Lynn Anderson
Mickey Gilley
Vern Gosdin
Jerry Lee Lewis
Johnny Paycheck
Ralph Stanley
Tanya Tucker
Hank Williams, Jr.

June Carter Cash
John Denver
Jack Greene
Gram Parsons
Charlie Rich
Jeannie Seely
Slim Whitman

Be sure to make your ACM predictions so that music insiders can see this year’s contenders are faring in our ACM odds. You can keep changing your predictions until winners are announced. And join the discussion on this and more taking place right now in our music forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby