Emmys ‘In Memoriam’ paid tribute to Tim Conway, Valerie Harper and Doris Day – but who was left out?

As alt-pop singer Halsey stirred emotions with her moving rendition of “Time After Time,” the 2019 Emmy Awards that aired on Fox on September 22 paid tribute to the television legends who left us in the last year during the show’s “In Memoriam” segment. They included actors Tim Conway, Valerie Harper, Katherine Helmond, Penny Marshall, Luke Perry, Doris Day and Rip Torn.

Let’s look back at some of the contributions made by these beloved TV icons.

Tim Conway died on May 14 at age 85. The comedy legend won six Emmy Awards during his lengthy career, including four for “The Carol Burnett Show,” one for “Coach” and one for “30 Rock.” He was inducted into the TV Academy Hall of Fame in 2002. And he took pride in getting his co-stars on Burnett’s variety show to laugh at his antics and break character.

Legendary singer and actress Doris Day died on May 13 at age 97. She received an Oscar nomination for “Pillow Talk” and also starred in films “The Man Who Knew Too Much,” “Lover Come Back,” “Send Me No Flowers,” “The Pajama Game” and more. She starred for five years on “The Doris Day Show” for CBS. And she received the Cecil B. DeMille Award at the 1989 Golden Globe Awards.

Comedian and actor Bob Einstein died on January 2 at age 76. He was most recently known for playing Larry David’s friend on “Curb Your Enthusiasm.” He began his career by winning an Emmy Award as part of the writing staffs of “The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour” and “Van Dyke and Company.” The brother of actor Albert Brooks was also well known for his role as Super Dave Osborne on various comedy programs and talk shows.

Valerie Harper died on August 30 at age 80. She won three Emmy Awards for playing neighbor and sidekick Rhoda Morgenstern on “The Mary Tyler Moore Show” and then won another as a lead actress on “Rhoda.” She was also nominated at the Tonys for “Looped” in 2010.

Actress Katherine Helmond died on February 23 at age 89. She was best known for her long-running roles on “Soap” and “Who’s the Boss?” She also played recurring characters on “Coach” and “Everybody Loves Raymond.” She was a seven-time Emmy nominee and had one Tony Award nomination.

Actress Peggy Lipton died on May 11 at age 72. She was best known for her role on “The Mod Squad,” which brought her four Emmy nominations and a Golden Globe win. Another fan-favorite role was as Norma Jennings on “Twin Peaks,” who she played most recently in the 2017 revival “Twin Peaks: The Return.”

Actress and director Penny Marshall died December 17 at age 75. She became one of the biggest stars on TV in the 1970s and early 1980s with “Laverne and Shirley.” She then directed such blockbuster films as “Big,” “A League of Their Own” and “Awakenings.”

Actor Luke Perry died on March 4 at age 52. He was best known for long-running roles on “Beverly Hills 90210” and “Riverdale.” His final role was as TV western star Scott Lancer in the Quentin Tarantino film “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” this past summer.

SEE The man behind the ‘Boyz’: John Singleton dead at age 51

Filmmaker John Singleton died at age 51 on April 29. He made history at age 24 by becoming the youngest and the first African-American to be Oscar-nominated as a director and also earned a nod for writing for his 1991 film “Boyz n the Hood.” His other movies included “Poetic Justice,” “Higher Learning,” “Shaft” and “2 Fast 2 Furious.” Later in his career he got involved in such TV series as “Empire.” But his first Emmy nomination was for “The People v. O.J. Simpson,” the initial installment of the FX anthology series “American Crime Story” that aired in 2016.

Actor Rip Torn died at age 88 on July 9. He was an Emmy winner for his performance as talk-show producer Artie on “The Larry Sanders Show” among his nine nominations. He was also an Oscar nominee for the 1983 film “Cross Creek.” Other movies included “Men in Black,” “Defending Your Life” and “Marie Antoinette.”

The academy was able to include journalist Cokie Roberts, who died September 17, only five days before the Emmy ceremony. Others who were paid homage are listed below. But as usual there were some omissions of TV talent we lost — those are noted by an asterisk. Most notable among the names missing were actress Kaye Ballard from “The Mothers-in-Law,” “Wild Kingdom” host Jim Fowler, and David Hedison from “Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea.”

Paul Allen (executive)
Tony Asken (cinematographer)
Kaye Ballard (actor)*
Ken Berry (actor)
Eunetta Boone (writer/producer)
Philip Bosco (actor)*
Cameron Boyce (actor)
Seymour Cassel (actor)
Carol Channing (actor)
Martin Charnin (composer)*
Randall Christensen (costume designer)*
Roy Clark (host/actor)
William J. Creber (production designer)*
Daryl Dragon (musician/host)*
Georgia Engel (actor)
Richard Erdman (actor)*
James Emswiller (sound mixer)*
John Falsey (writer/producer)
Albert Finney (actor)
Peter Fonda (actor)
Jim Fowler (host)*
Eddie Foy III (casting director)*
James Frawley (director)
Steve Golin (executive/producer)
David Hedison (actor)*
Stephen Hillenburg (animator)*
Rutger Hauer (actor)
Ricky Jay (actor)*
Arte Johnson (actor)
James Karen (actor)*
Ken Kercheval (actor)
Lew Klein (producer)
Christopher Knopf (writer)
Nicholas V. Korda (sound editor)
Maury Laws (composer)*
Stan Lee (executive)
Michel Legrand (composer)*
Charles Levin (actor)*
Tony Lynn (executive)
Katherine MacGregor (actor)*
Peggy McKay (actor)*
Ron Miller (executive)
Donald Moffat (actor)*
George Morfogen (actor)*
Louisa Moritz (actor)*
John Llewellyn Moxey (director)*
Andre Previn (conductor)
David Picker (Executive/Producer)*
Cokie Roberts (correspondent)
Gregg Rudloff (sound mixer)*
Kristoff St. John (actor)
Alvin Sargent (writer)*
Larry Siegel (Writer)
Sid Sheinberg (executive)
Ken Swofford (actor)*
Russi Taylor (actor)*
Sharon Taylor (production designer)
Peter Tork (actor)*
Gloria Vanderbilt (costume designer)
Jan-Michael Vincent (actor)
Will Vinton (animator)*
Lou Weiss (executive)
Ken Welch (composer)*
Nancy Wilson (actor/singer)
Scott Wilson (actor)*
William Wittliff (writer)*
Morgan Woodward (actor)*
Max Wright (actor)*
Franco Zeffirelli (director)*

More News from GoldDerby