‘Fleabag’ dominated the comedy Emmys, but didn’t stop ‘The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel’ from making history of its own

Fleabag” was the big winner at the 2019 Emmys on the comedy side of the aisle. It won four times: Best Comedy Series and Best Comedy Actress (Phoebe Waller-Bridge) along with prizes for both its writing (Waller-Bridge again) and directing (Harry Bradbeer). But it didn’t stop “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” from making history of its own. Check out the complete list of Emmy winners here.

The four victories for “Fleabag” on Sunday night, combined with its two prizes at the Creative Arts Awards on September 15, bring its total for the year to 6 prizes out of its 11 nominations. But last year’s big winner “Maisel” didn’t come away from the telecast empty-handed. It won both supporting acting races for Alex Borstein and Tony Shalhoub. It was Borstein’s second straight win in the category, but it was Shalhoub’s first for this show. He did win three times before, though: Best Comedy Actor for “Monk” in 2003, 2005 and 2006.

That brought its total awards for the year to eight, tying its 2018 record for the most awards for a comedy in a single year. Counting its two Creative Arts prizes for guest actors Jane Lynch and Luke Kirby, it claimed four acting awards overall, tying “Saturday Night Live’s” record for the most comedy acting wins in a single year.

Elsewhere, Bill Hader won his second straight Best Comedy Actor Emmy for “Barry.” He was the heavy favorite this time around after he upset Donald Glover (“Atlanta”) in 2018. And that category sure does love its repeats: this is the fourth time this decade alone that an actor has gone back-to-back. Jim Parsons did it twice for “The Big Bang Theory” (2010-2011, 2013-2014) then Jeffrey Tambor did it for “Transparent” (2015-2016).

Veep” had been favored to win Best Comedy Actress for Julia Louis-Dreyfus for an unprecedented seventh time. That would have completed her historic winning streak. She may have lost to Waller-Bridge this time around, but it’s still unlikely that anyone will match Louis-Dreyfus’s achievement — six in a row from 2012-2017 — anytime soon. And Louis-Dreyfus maintains her tie with Cloris Leachman as the most awarded performer in Primetime Emmy history with eight overall.

What did you think of this year’s winners?

More News from GoldDerby