Last women standing: Can Laci Kaye Booth or Madison VanDenburg beat the boys on ‘American Idol’?

Thanks to the “American Idol” judges using their save, two women still remain in the Top 5 of Season 17: Laci Kaye Booth and Madison VanDenburg. Laci failed to earn enough votes during Sunday’s live Top 6 episode (along with Jeremiah Lloyd Harmon), but Katy Perry, Lionel Richie and Luke Bryan opted to save her from elimination at the last moment. Can either Laci or Madison now go on to join the “American Idol” winners list over their three male counterparts Laine Hardy, Alejandro Aranda and Wade Cota? Sound off down in the comments section.

During the dual-themed episode, Laci first took on “To Love Somebody” as her Woodstock song and then belted out “Open Arms” as her Showstopper performance, while Madison sang “Piece Of My Heart” (Woodstock) and “I Surrender” (Showstopper). The judges gave both of them standing ovations throughout the night, with Lionel telling Laci that her “delivery was fantastic” and Luke raving to Madison that she’s “one of the best singers on earth.”

Madison easily sailed through to next week based on America’s live votes, but Laci would have been eliminated if not for the Judges’ Save being used. According to Gold Derby’s exclusive predictions, Madison has a good chance of winning Season 17 with 37/10 odds, but first she has to worry about Laine who’s ahead of her on our winner’s chart with 21/10 odds.

Looking back over the past 16 seasons, a woman has won “American Idol” only six times: Kelly Clarkson (Season 1), Fantasia Barrino (Season 3), Carrie Underwood (Season 4), Jordin Sparks (Season 6), Candice Glover (Season 12) and Maddie Poppe (Season 16). That suggests both Laci and Madison have their work cut out for them, as voters typically go for a male winner.

Here are the 10 male “American Idol” champions throughout the years: Ruben Studdard (Season 2), Taylor Hicks (Season 5), David Cook (Season 7), Kris Allen (Season 8), Lee DeWyze (Season 9), Scotty McCreery (Season 10), Phillip Phillips (Season 11), Caleb Johnson (Season 13), Nick Fradiani (Season 14) and Trent Harmon (Season 15).

Be sure to make your predictions to influence our reality TV racetrack odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before the next episode airs on ABC. You’ll compete to win a spot on our leaderboard and a $100 Amazon gift card. See our contest rules and sound off with other fans in our reality TV forum. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby