Rami Malek (‘Bohemian Rhapsody’) becomes 92nd Best Actor winning, joining Gary Oldman, Daniel Day-Lewis, Denzel Washington and…

Rami Malek just won the Oscar as Best Actor for his transformative performance as Freddie Mercury in “Bohemian Rhapsody.” He become the 92nd person in history to clinch that prize, beating out Christian Bale (“Vice”), Bradley Cooper (“A Star is Born”), Willem Dafoe (“At Eternity’s Gate”) and Viggo Mortensen (“Green Book”). Tour our photo gallery above of every Academy Award winner for Best Actor, from the most recent winner to the very first one. And find out when there was a tie in the 91-year history of this Oscar.

Since 1927, only nine actors have won this category more than once. Daniel Day-Lewis holds the record for most victories with three: “My Left Foot” (1989), “There Will Be Blood” (2007), and “Lincoln” (2012). Eight other actors have received two Best Actor trophies:

Marlon Brando: “On the Waterfront” (1954) and “The Godfather” (1972)

Gary Cooper: “Sergeant York” (1941) and “High Noon” (1952)

Tom Hanks: “Philadelphia” (1993) and “Forrest Gump” (1994)

Dustin Hoffman: “Kramer vs. Kramer” (1979) and “Rain Man” (1988)

Fredric March: “Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde” (1931) and “The Best Years of Our Lives” (1945)

Jack Nicholson: “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” (1975) and “As Good as It Gets” (1997)

Sean Penn: “Mystic River” (2003) and “Milk” (2008)

Spencer Tracy: “Captains Courageous” (1937) and “Boys Town” (1938)

Tracy and Hanks hold the rare distinction of receiving their awards in consecutive years, Tracy in 1937 and 1938, Hanks in 1993 and 1994.

Take a look back at every Best Actor winner at the Oscars, and see if your favorite performances were up to the Academy’s standards.

PREDICT the Emmy nominees now; change them until July 16

In the near future, you can check out how our experts rank this year’s Emmy contenders. Then take a look at the most up-to-date combined odds before you make your own 2019 Emmy predictions. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until just before nominations are announced on July 16.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby