Can Rose Short break ‘The Voice’ instant save curse? See our Season 17 finale predictions

Is a long-standing “The Voice” curse about to be broken? If Gwen Stefani‘s R&B singer Rose Short ends up winning Season 17 during next week’s finale, she’ll make history as the first artist to prevail who was previously saved by Twitter. Since the Instant Save twist was first created in Season 6, no recipient has ever gone on to win “The Voice.” Britton Buchanan came the closest in Season 14 by being the runner-up to winner Brynn Cartelli, but all of the other times — including last season with Andrew Sevener — the saved artist finished last in their respective finales.

According to Gold Derby’s racetrack odds, Rose is indeed predicted to come in fourth place after earning the final Instant Save of the year. This 34-year-old former corrections officer has lowly 10/1 odds to win Season 17, compared to 10/9 odds for front-runner Katie Kadan (Team John Legend), 31/10 odds for Jake Hoot (Team Kelly Clarkson) and 4/1 odds for Ricky Duran (Team Blake Shelton). This is the first time in seven seasons all four coaches are represented in the finale.

Rose belted out “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman” during Tuesday’s episode as her “save me” song, which Gwen called “magical.” “You keep blowing my mind,” her coach later declared. “You’re just incredible, you’re amazing, you’re inspiring, you’re funny, you’re so human in so many ways. And then you have this crazy gift. You deserve to be here, but you deserve to be everywhere.”

Here’s a look back at how all of the previous Instant Save/wild card recipients faced in their season finales:

Season 6: Christina Grimmie (Team Adam Levine) finished in third place behind winner Josh Kaufman (Team Usher) and runner-up Jake Worthington (Team Blake).

Season 7: Damien Lawson (Team Adam) finished in fourth place behind winner Craig Wayne Boyd (Team Blake), runner-up Matt McAndrew (Team Adam) and Chris Jamison (Team Adam)

Season 8: Koryn Hawthorne (Team Pharrell Williams) finished in fourth place behind winner Sawyer Fredericks (Team Pharrell), runner-up Meghan Linsey (Team Blake) and Joshua Davis (Team Adam).

Season 9: Jeffery Austin (Team Gwen Stefani) finished in fourth place behind winner Jordan Smith (Team Adam), runner-up Emily Ann Roberts (Team Blake) and Barrett Baber (Team Blake).

Season 10: Laith Al-Saadi (Team Adam) finished in fourth place behind winner Alisan Porter (Team Christina Aguilera), runner-up Adam Wakefield (Team Blake) and Hannah Huston (Team Pharrell).

Season 11: Josh Gallagher (Team Adam) finished in fourth place behind winner Sundance Head (Team Blake), runner-up Billy Gilman (Team Adam) and We’ McDonald (Team Alicia).

Season 12: Jesse Larson (Team Adam) finished in fourth place behind winner Chris Blue (Team Alicia), runner-up Lauren Duski (Team Blake) and Aliyah Moulden (Team Blake).

Season 13: Red Marlow (Team Blake) finished in fourth place behind winner Chloe Kohanski (Team Blake), runner-up Addison Agen (Team Adam) and Brooke Simpson (Team Miley Cyrus).

Season 14: Britton Buchanan (Team Alicia) was the runner-up to Brynn Cartelli (Team Kelly Clarkson); third and fourth place were Kyla Jade (Team Blake) and Spensha Baker (Team Blake).

Season 15: Kennedy Holmes (Team Jennifer Hudson) finished in fourth place behind winner Chevel Shepherd (Team Kelly), runner-up Chris Kroeze (Team Blake) and Kirk Jay (Team Blake).

Season 16: Andrew Sevener (Team Blake) finished in fourth place behind winner Maelyn Jarmon (Team Legend), runner-up Gyth Rigdon (Team Blake) and Dexter Roberts (Team Blake).

Be sure to make your predictions to influence our reality TV racetrack odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before the next episode airs on NBC. You’ll compete to win a spot on our Season 17 leaderboard and a $100 Amazon gift card. See our contest rules and sound off with other fans in our reality TV forum. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s newsletter with experts’ latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby