‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’ becomes 18th Best Animated Feature Oscar winner

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse” just won the Oscar for Best Animated Feature, continuing a winning streak that included similar victories at the Golden Globes, Critics Choice, BAFTA, and PGA. It became the 18th film in history to clinch that prize, beating out “Incredibles 2,” “Isle of Dogs,” “Mirai,” and “Ralph Breaks the Internet.” Tour our photo gallery above of every Academy Award winner for Best Animated Feature, from the most recent winner to the very first one.

The Best Animated Feature award was first introduced in 2001. Prior to that, only “Beauty and the Beast” (1991) had managed to earn a Best Picture nomination, with the medium largely ignored in other major categories. Starting in 2009, when the Best Picture lineup was expanded from five to 10 titles, two films — “Up” (2009) and “Toy Story 3” (2010) — have earned bids in both lineups.

Since 2001, four director have managed to win this award twice:

Brad Bird: “The Incredibles” (2004) and “Ratatouille” (2007)

Pete Docter: “Up” (2009) and “Inside Out” (2015)

Andrew Stanton: “Finding Nemo” (2003) and “Wall-E” (2008)

Lee Unkrich: “Toy Story 3” (2010) and “Coco” (2017)

Interestingly enough, all four of those directors won their prizes for films produced by Pixar, which has been the dominate force in this category over the years. Their win for “Brave” (2012) bumps the studio’s overall haul up to nine trophies. Pixar’s parent company, Walt Disney Studios, runs in second for total wins with three: “Frozen” (2013), “Big Hero 6” (2014), and “Zootopia” (2016).

Take a look back at every Best Animated Feature winner at the Oscars, and see if your favorite films were up to the Academy’s standards.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby