‘The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel’ wins 2019 Critics’ Choice TV Award for Best Comedy Series: ‘Remember this’ come budget time, jokes producer

“Amazon, we love you, thank you. The Season 3 budget is going to be coming to you this week. Remember this!” joked “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” producer Amy Sherman-Palladino on Sunday night while holding up her 2019 Critics’ Choice TV Award. Amazon Prime Video’s show about a 1950s housewife (Rachel Brosnahan) who becomes a stand-up comedian was predicted to win this race for Best Comedy Series despite losing last week at the Golden Globes to “The Kominsky Method.” See the complete list of winners.

This marks the second time in a row that “Mrs. Maisel” has won this prize from the Broadcast Television Journalists Association. During Sunday’s ceremony the series also won Best Comedy Actress for Brosnahan and Best Comedy Supporting Actress for Alex Borstein. Brosnahan goofed by forgetting to thank the BTJA in her acceptance speech, so Sherman-Palladino made up for it at the podium. “She’s very sorry and she’s very guilty, because that’s part of our life,” said the showrunner.

“Usually when a Jew hears ‘critics’ they think, ‘Thanks mom,'” Sherman-Palladino laughed at the podium before announcing that it was her own mother’s birthday. She continued on, “We just want to thank everyone. The most amazing cast in the world, our crew, everyone who showed up, everyone who talks to us.”

Besides “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” the other seven shows nominated for Best Comedy Series at the Critics’ Choice Awards were “Barry,” “Atlanta,” “The Good Place,” “The Kominsky Method,” “One Day at a Time,” “Schitt’s Creek” and “The Middle.” Gold Derby’s racetrack odds accurately favored “Mrs. Maisel” to win with leading 11/2 odds, just ahead of “Barry” at 7/1 odds.

The Critics’ Choice TV Awards have been around since 2011, though they had two ceremonies within the 2015 calendar year. Here’s a look at the past nine Best Comedy Series winners: “Modern Family” (2011), “Community” (2012), “The Big Bang Theory” (2013), “Orange is the New Black” (2014), “Silicon Valley” (2015-A), “Master of None” (2015-B), “Silicon Valley” (2016) and “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (2017-18).

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby