The OTEV curse is officially dead after Cody’s ‘Big Brother 22’ victory

It’s the end of an era. With Cody Calafiore‘s win on “Big Brother 22” on Wednesday, the OTEV curse is has been broken as he became the first OTEV champ to go on to win the game.

Since its introduction in the first all-stars outing in Season 7 in 2006, the iconic Veto comp has been played every year except Season 10, but every OTEV winner until now came up short of the $500,000 prize in his or her season. Here are all the OTEV champs:

Season 7: Janelle Pierzina
Season 8: Eric Stein
Season 9: Ryan Quicksall
Season 11: Jeff Schroeder
Season 12: Enzo Palumbo
Season 13: Adam Poch
Season 14: Dan Gheesling
Season 15: Elissa Slater
Season 16: Zach Rance
Season 17: Liz Nolan
Season 18: Michelle Meyer
Season 19: Mark Jansen
Season 20: Tyler Crispen
Season 21: Tommy Bracco
Season 22: Cody Calafiore

SEE ‘Big Brother 22’ finale recap: Cody wins the $500,000

Guess it’s fitting that the curse started with the first all-stars season and ended with the second.

Prior to Cody, Dan, the Season 10 champ, was the only person to have won OTEV and the game, but those were in different seasons. Dan, Ryan, Liz and Tyler had previously come the closest to winning it all, placing second in their respective seasons.

OTEV was one of eight comps Cody won this season, the most out of anyone. Hilariously, after the comp, Tyler and Enzo talked about the OTEV curse and told Cody, to which he was basically like, “Well, I’m f—ed.” Au contraire.

So are we now gonna go on a streak of OTEV champs winning the game? Probably not. But it’s one fewer thing we can turn to when making predictions. While the OTEV curse died, one legendary “BB” curse is still alive and well: the “first to enter” curse. The first person to enter the house every season has not won, and Christmas Abbott was the casualty this year.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby