Oscars 2020 In Memoriam: Which people made the cut and who was left out?

For Sunday’s Oscars 2020 ceremony on ABC, producers had a difficult decision of which film industry people would make the cut and who would unfortunately be left out of the “In Memoriam.” For the segment, for the song “Yesterday” performed by Grammy champ Billie Eilish.

Visit our own Gold Derby memoriam gallery for the year of 2019 and the just launched gallery for 2020.

Over 100 people in the film industry, many of them academy members, have passed away in the past 12 months. Here is a list of the some of the names included in the tribute:

Danny Aiello (actor)
Jim Alexander (sound)
Bibi Andersson (actor)
Ben Barenholtz (executive)
Kobe Bryant (producer)
Diahann Carroll (actor)
Seymour Cassel (actor)
William J. Creber (production designer)
Doris Day (actress)
Stanley Donen (director)
Kirk Douglas (actor/producer)
Robert Evans (executive)
Peter Fonda (actor)
Robert Forster (actor)
Harriet Frank, Jr. (writer)
Leonard Goldberg (executive)
Steve Golin (executive/producer)
Rutger Hauer (actor)
Buck Henry (writer/director/actor)
Terry Jones (actor/writer)
Paul LeBlanc (make-up artist)
Edward Lewis (producer)
Branko Lustig (producer)
Michael Lynne (executive)
Barry Malkin (editor)
Peter Mayhew (actor)
Sylvia Miles (actor)
D.A. Pennebaker (documentarian)
David Picker (executive/producer)
Bernie Pollack (costume designer)
Andre Previn (composer)
Sid Ramin (composer)
Alvin Sargent (writer)
Sid Sheinberg (executive)
John Singleton (director/writer)
Rip Torn (actor)
Piero Tosi (costume designer)
Anna Udvardy (producer)
Agnes Varda (documentarian)
Joss Williams (visual effects)
Richard Williams (animator)
John Witherspoon (actor)
Franco Zeffirelli (director)

And here is a list of the some of the people who were omitted:

Rene Auberjonois (actor)
Rudy Behlmer (historian)
Frank Biondi, Jr. (executive)
Zev Braun (producer)
Larry Cohen (writer)
Tim Conway (actor)
John Corso (production designer)
Valentina Cortese (actor)
Billy Drago (actor)
Samuel Gelfman (producer)
Sid Haig (actor)
Valerie Harper (actor)
David Hedison (actor)
Katherine Helmond (actor)
Norman Hollyn (editor)
Igo Kantor (composer)
Ann Lambert (costume designer)
Peter Larkin (production designer)
Ron Leibman (actor)
Mildred Lewis (producer)
George Litto (executive)
Carol Lynley (actor)
Bill Macy (actor)
William Manger (sound)
Mardik Martin (writer)
Mark Medoff (writer)
Lawrence Paull (production designer)
Luke Perry (actor)
Susan Pitt (animation)
Michael J. Pollard (actor)
Hal Prince (director)
Milton Quon (animator)
Terry Rawlings (editor)
Bernard Slade (writer)
Dan Taylor (visual effects)
Carol Titelman (executive)
Zaza Urushadze (director)
Stephen Verona (director)
Morgan Woodward (actor)

VOTE for nominees of the Gold Derby Film Decade Awards 2010-2019

Be sure to vote today for our Gold Derby decade awards featuring the best of the best from 2010 to 2019. You can keep changing your ballot as often as you like until the event closes on February 21. All 1,500 candidates you’ll see across 22 categories were nominees at either the Oscars, annual Gold Derby Film Awards or both. And join in the fun debate over these contenders taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our film forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby