Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2020 inductees: Depeche Mode, Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, Notorious B.I.G., T-Rex

The 35th induction class for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will consist of six artists: Depeche Mode, Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, Nine Inch Nails, Notorious B.I.G. and T-Rex. The official announcement was made on Wednesday. Also joining as inductees on the live HBO ceremony for May 2 are managers Irving Azoff and Jon Landau.

An artist becomes eligible 25 years after the first recording. While all of these artists had surpassed that date by several years, it was the first time on the ballot for four of them. Only the Doobies and Nails had been passed over by voters before.

Who was snubbed on this year’s ballot? The biggest shockers were Pat Benatar and Dave Matthews Band not making it since both led the fan voting. Others on the ballot not selected were Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Motorhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden and Thin Lizzy.

Gold Derby offers annual polls about overlooked rockers who deserve induction. This year’s band poll was won by the Doobie Brothers over the Monkees. The female poll was taken by Tina Turner and Cher. The male poll was won by Warren Zevon. All but the Doobies still await another voting cycle.

Be sure to make your Grammy predictions so that record executives and top name stars can see how their music is faring in our Grammy odds. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until winners are announced. And join in the fierce debate over the 2020 Grammys taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our music forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby