2022 SAG Awards TV live blog: ‘Succession,’ ‘Ted Lasso’ win ensemble prizes during unpredictable ceremony

Heading into the 28th Screen Actors Guild Awards on Sunday night, HBO’s “Succession” was predicted to sweep the TV races with three trophies (drama ensemble, drama actor and drama actress). Apple’s “Ted Lasso” was next in line with two forecasted victories (comedy ensemble and comedy actor). Other shows predicted to earn single wins were “Hacks” (comedy actress), “Dopesick” (limited/movie actor), “Mare of Easttown” (limited/movie actress) and “Squid Game” (stunt ensemble). Did Gold Derby’s predictions come true, or were there more than a few surprise winners among the nine television categories? Read on for our minute-by-minute 2022 SAG Awards TV live blog.

As a reminder, the TV side was guaranteed to have multiple new champions this year since most of last year’s winners (things like “Schitt’s Creek,” “The Crown,” “Ozark” and “The Mandalorian”) all didn’t air within the 2021 eligibility period. Indeed, only Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”) was eligible to repeat his victory from last year.

This year’s kudos aired live on TNT and TBS on February 27, 2022 from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California. Besides the nine TV winners and six film champs, Helen Mirren also received her Life Achievement Award from Kate Winslet on Sunday night. These awards are voted on by approximately 160,000 members of the SAG-AFTRA foundation.

Keep refreshing/reloading this 2022 SAG Awards TV live blog for the most recent updates.

3:00 p.m. — The first television award of the evening is handed out on the red carpet to … the stunt ensemble of “Squid Game”! This Korean survival drama took down fellow nominees “Cobra Kai,” “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier,” “Loki” and “Mare of Easttown.” The rest of the TV categories will be presented live on the telecast beginning at 5:00 p.m. PT/ET, so feel free to grab some popcorn while you wait.

5:25 p.m.Jung Ho-Yeon and Hailee Steinfeld are presenting Best Comedy Actor, and the winner is … Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”)! He zooms in from England, surrounded by his co-stars, because the show is currently in production for its third season. The other nominees in this category were Michael Douglas (“The Kominsky Method”), Brett Goldstein (“Ted Lasso”), Steve Martin (“Only Murders in the Building”) and Martin Short (“Only Murders in the Building”).

5:31 p.m. — Now it’s time for Best Comedy Actress, with the presenters being Vanessa Hudgens and Rosario Dawson. Congrats to Jean Smart (“Hacks”) for winning! This is her first individual SAG Award after previously winning as part of the “24” ensemble. “Nobody gets us,” she laughs about her fellow actors. She then encourages everyone at home to “pray for peace.” Smart beat out Elle Fanning (“The Great”), Sandra Oh (“The Chair”), Juno Temple (“Ted Lasso”) and Hannah Waddingham (“Ted Lasso”).

5:37 p.m. — Who’s ready for Best Comedy Ensemble? Lisa Kudrow and Mira Sorvino present the award to … “Ted Lasso”! An excited Waddingham accepts the award for her cast from England, being sure to single out Temple who’s in the actual audience. The other nominees were “The Great,” “Hacks,” “The Kominsky Method” and “Only Murders in the Building.”

5:45 p.m.Faith Hill and Tim McGraw are presenting the trophy for Best Drama Actor. Huge congrats to Lee Jung-Jae (“Squid Game”)! This was the Korean star’s first-ever nomination and win with the Screen Actors Guild. The other contenders were Brian Cox (“Succession”), Billy Crudup (“The Morning Show”), Kieran Culkin (“Succession”) and Jeremy Strong (“Succession”). Blame the vote-split?

5:55 p.m. — Moving on to Best Drama Actress, the presenters are Ross Butler and Alexandra Daddario. And the award goes to … Jung Ho-Yeon (“Squid Game”)! She recalls how she grew up watching all of the actors in the audience and that they “opened the door” for her. Jung beat out co-nominees Jennifer Aniston (“The Morning Show”), Elisabeth Moss (“The Handmaid’s Tale”), Sarah Snook (“Succession”) and Reese Witherspoon (“The Morning Show”).

6:22 p.m. — Best Drama Ensemble is next, with “Scandal” flames Kerry Washington and Tony Goldwyn presenting. Congrats to the cast of “Succession”! After three years, this is the first-ever SAG Award for the HBO family drama. Cox wears a “F*CK OFF” mask and talks eloquently about the Ukraine/Russian war going on in Europe. The other nominated casts were “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “The Morning Show,” “Squid Game” and “Yellowstone.”

6:29 p.m. — Presenting the race for Best Limited/Movie Actress is Benedict Cumberbatch and Jesse Plemons. And the winner is … Kate Winslet (“Mare of Easttown”)! Winslet is not available to give her speech, so the “Power of the Dog” brothers accept on her behalf. Her fellow nominees were Jennifer Coolidge (“The White Lotus”), Cynthia Erivo (“Genius: Aretha”), Margaret Qualley (“Maid”) and Jean Smart (“Mare of Easttown”).

6:40 p.m. — The last TV category of the evening is upon us, Best Limited/Movie Actor. The presenter is Salma Hayek. Three cheers for the winner, Michael Keaton (“Dopesick”)! “Sorry, quick trip to the men’s room,” he says after being late to accept his trophy. The actor then tears up as he dedicates the prize to his nephew and sister. Keaton beat out the likes of Murray Bartlett (“The White Lotus”), Oscar Isaac (“Scenes From a Marriage”), Ewan McGregor (“Halston”) and Evan Peters (“Mare of Easttown”).

6:45 p.m. — For those keeping track at home, “Squid Game” is tonight’s big TV champ with three wins (drama actor, drama actress and stunt ensemble). Next up is “Ted Lasso” with two trophies (comedy ensemble and comedy actor). “Succession,” “Hacks,” “Mare of Eastown” and “Dopesick” end the evening with one victory apiece.

More News from GoldDerby