2023 AAFCA Awards: Red carpet interviews with Meagan Good, Hannah Beachler and Nikyatu Jusu [WATCH]

Winners and special honorees were celebrated at the 14th Annual AAFCA Awards at the Beverly Wilshire, a Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills on March 1. Prior to the festivities, Gold Derby associate editor Latasha Ford caught up with a few of the night’s presenters and honorees on the red carpet. Watch her chats with actress Meagan Good, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” production designer Hannah Beachler and “Nanny” writer/director Nikyatu Jusu above.

“The Woman King,” “Till,” “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” and “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery” each won two AAFCA Awards with “The Woman King” taking Best Picture and Best Director for Gina Prince-Bythewood, “Till” for Best Actress (Danielle Deadwyler) and the Emerging Face award (Jayln Hall), “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” for Best Supporting Actress (Angela Bassett) and Best Song (Rihanna’s “Lift Me Up”) and “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery” for Best Writing (Rian Johnson) and Best Ensemble.

SEE AAFCA Awards 2023 winners: ‘The Woman King’ takes Best Picture; Danielle Deadwyler, Angela Bassett among acting champs

“AAFCA is deeply honored to recognize some of the most captivating films and performances of the year,” said AAFCA president and co-founder Gil Robertson. “These thought-provoking stories of strength, determination and courage lift us and entertain us. It’s an honor to recognize the incredible, visionary work both in front of and behind the camera of this year’s AAFCA Award winners.”

Other winners included Best Supporting Actor Brian Tyree Henry (“Causeway”), Emerging Filmmaker Carey Williams (“Emergency”), Best Independent Feature (“Nanny”), Best Animated Feature (“Wendell & Wild”), Best Documentary (“Sidney”) and Best International Feature (“Saint Omer”).  Best Live Action Short went to Kendrick Lamar’s “We Cry Together” and Best Animated Short went to Colman and Raul Domingo’s “New Moon.”

AAFCA also announced honorees for several special achievement awards including “Till” for the Impact Award, composer Michael Abels (“Nope”) for the Innovator Award, production designer Hannah Beachler (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”) for the Building Change Award presented by Lowes, Antoine Fuqua and Will Smith (“Emancipation”) for the Beacon Award and producer Nate Moore (“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”) for the Ashley Boone Award. See the full list of winners here.

Make your predictions at Gold Derby now. Download our free and easy app for Apple/iPhone devices or Android (Google Play) to compete against legions of other fans plus our experts and editors for best prediction accuracy scores. See our latest prediction champs. Can you top our esteemed leaderboards next? Always remember to keep your predictions updated because they impact our latest racetrack odds, which terrify Hollywood chiefs and stars. Don’t miss the fun. Speak up and share your huffy opinions in our famous forums where 5,000 showbiz leaders lurk every day to track latest awards buzz. Everybody wants to know: What do you think? Who do you predict and why?


More News from GoldDerby