DGA Awards: The Daniels are third pair to win Best Director

Gold Derby is backstage at the 75th Directors Guild of America Awards on Saturday, February 18 in order to bring you all the up-to-date details on the presenters, nominees and winners. (See the complete winners list.) Managing editor Chris Beachum and social media manager Jaclyn Ben-Porat are in the press room and will let us all know every time something newsworthy happens. Read on for our 2023 DGA Awards live blog.

As a reminder, these kudos are non-televised. However, for the first time ever, Gold Derby is airing a live streaming show announcing winners as they happen with several of our editors and freelancers — watch it right here.

The DGA Awards honor the best helmers of the year in movies and television, as voted on by more than 18,000 members of the directing guild. The most talked-about category is always saved for last: Best Film Director. This year’s nominees are Todd Field (“Tár”), Joseph Kosinski (“Top Gun: Maverick”), Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”), Martin McDonagh (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) and Steven Spielberg (“The Fabelmans”).

SEE Oscar Best Director Gallery: Every Winner In Academy Award History

Keep refreshing/reloading this 2023 DGA Awards live blog to see all the winners

7:30 p.m. — Here. We. Go! The 75th annual ceremony officially begins at The Beverly Hilton Hotel. A clip package is being shown to the crowd. DGA President Lesli Linka Glatter will then come out to introduce the host of the evening, director Judd Apatow. It’s estimated that the first award will be handed out before 8:00 p.m.

7:55 p.m. — Jason Bateman is presenting Best Film Documentary Director. The five nominees are Sara Dosa (“Fire of Love”), Matthew Heineman (“Retrograde”), Laura Poitras (“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”), Daniel Roher (“Navalny”) and Shaunak Sen (“All That Breathes”). Congrats to Sara Dosa on winning the first trophy of the night!

8:00 p.m. — Throughout the evening each of the five directing nominees will receive special medallions. Up first is the presentation to The Daniels by Stephanie Hsu.

8:15 p.m. — The next category is Best TV Variety Special Directing, and the nominees are Ian Berger (“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah Presents Jordan Klepper Fingers the Pulse – Hungary for Democracy”), Hamish Hamilton (“Super Bowl LVI Halftime Show”), James Merriman (“Norman Lear: 100 Years of Music and Laughter”), Marcus Raboy (“Mark Twain Prize 2022: Celebrating Jon Stewart”) and Glenn Weiss (“The 75th Annual Tony Awards”). And the winner is … Glenn Weiss!

8:22 p.m. — Now let’s move on to the corresponding race for Best TV Variety Series Directing, where the contenders are Paul G. Casey (“Real Time with Bill Maher” for “#2010”), Jim Hoskinson (“The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” for “#1333”), David Paul Meyer (“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” for “Brandi Carlile”), Liz Patrick (“Saturday Night Live” for “Jack Harlow”) and Paul Pennolino (“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” for “Afghanistan”). Huge congrats to … Liz Patrick!

8:27 p.m. — Coming up next is a special presentation to Martin McDonagh (who is not present) and then the Frank Capra Achievement Award to Mark Hansson. Bathroom break!

8:36 p.m. — Let’s look ahead to Best Children’s Program Directing, with the five nominees being Tim Federle (“Better Nate Than Ever”), Bonnie Hunt (“Amber Brown” for “I, Amber Brown”), Dean Israelite (“Are You Afraid of the Dark?” for “The Tale of Room 13”), Michael Lembeck (“Snow Day”) and Anne Renton (“Best Foot Forward” for “Halloween”). And the winner is … Anne Renton!

8:43 p.m. — Best TV Reality Program Directing is the next category, and here are the five contenders: Joseph Guidry (“The Big Brunch” for “Carb Loading Brunch”), Carrie Havel (“The Go-Big Show” for “Only One Can Win”), Rich Kim (“Lego Masters” for “Jurass-brick World”), Michael Shea (“FBOY Island” for “Do You Like Cats?”) and Ben Simms (“Running Wild with Bear Grylls” for “Florence Pugh in the Volcanic Rainforests of Costa Rica”). The champion is … Ben Simms!

9:00 p.m. — Let’s move on over to a special presentation to Joseph Kosinski by Jerry Bruckheimer and the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award to Valdez Flagg.

9:11 p.m. — A big television race is coming up next for Best TV Movie/Miniseries Directing, with the nominees being Eric Appel (“Weird: The Al Yankovic Story”), Deborah Chow (“Obi-Wan Kenobi”), Jeremy Podeswa (“Station Eleven” for “Unbroken Circle”), Helen Shaver (“Station Eleven” for “Who’s There?”) and Tom Verica (“Inventing Anna” for “The Devil Wore Anna”). The trophy goes to … Helen Shaver!

9:30 p.m. — Best Film First-Time Directing is up next. Will this year’s rookie champion be Alice Diop (“Saint Omer”), Audrey Diwan (“Happening”), John Patton Ford (“Emily the Criminal”), Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović (“Murina”) or Charlotte Wells (“Aftersun”)? Drumroll please … it’s Charlotte Wells!

9:40 p.m. — Who’s ready for a special presentation to Steven Spielberg by Denis Villeneuve? Let’s go!

9:46 p.m. — Let’s continue on to the Best Commercial Directing award, where the five contenders are Juan Cabral (John Lewis & Partners’ “For All Life’s Moments” and Apple’s “Share the Joy”), Kim Gehrig (Apple’s “Accessibility” and “Run Baby Run”), Craig Gillespie (Apple’s “Hard Knocks,” Jimmy John’s’ “Problem” and Nissan’s “Thrill Driver”), David Shane (Apple’s “Detectives,” ITVX’s “Smile” and Procter & Gamble’s “Traffic Stop”) and Ivan Zachariáš (Apple’s “Data Auction” and Upwork’s “This Is How We Work Now”). Congrats to Kim Gehrig!

9:50 p.m. — Best TV Comedy Directing is up next, with the five hopefuls being Tim Burton (“Wednesday” for “Wednesday’s Child is Full of Woe”), Bill Hader (“Barry” for “710N”), Amy Sherman-Palladino (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” for “How Do You Get to Carnegie Hall?”), Christopher Storer (“The Bear” for “Review”) and Mike White (“The White Lotus: Sicily” for “BYG”). The winner is … Bill Hader!

9:53 p.m. — Heads up: we’re heading into a special presentation to Todd Field by Paul Thomas Anderson and then a Lifetime Achievement Award to Robert A. Fishman. In other words, it might be a while before the next award.

10:24 p.m. — Moving over to the Best TV Drama Directing race, the nominees are Jason Bateman (“Ozark” for “A Hard Way To Go”), Vince Gilligan (“Better Call Saul” for “Waterworks”), Sam Levinson (“Euphoria” for “Stand Still Like the Hummingbird”), Aoife McArdle (“Severance” for “Hide and Seek”) and Ben Stiller (“Severance” for “The We We Are”). Congrats to … Sam Levinson!

10:28 p.m. — And now it’s time for the last category of the night, Best Film Director. It’s a biggie! Once again, the nominees are Todd Field (“TÁR”), Joseph Kosinski (“Top Gun: Maverick”), Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”), Martin McDonagh (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) and Steven Spielberg (“The Fabelmans”). And the winner is … The Daniels!

Make your predictions at Gold Derby now. Download our free and easy app for Apple/iPhone devices or Android (Google Play) to compete against legions of other fans plus our experts and editors for best prediction accuracy scores. See our latest prediction champs. Can you top our esteemed leaderboards next? Always remember to keep your predictions updated because they impact our latest racetrack odds, which terrify Hollywood chiefs and stars. Don’t miss the fun. Speak up and share your huffy opinions in our famous forums where 5,000 showbiz leaders lurk every day to track latest awards buzz. Everybody wants to know: What do you think? Who do you predict and why?

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby