2023 PGA Awards live blog: ‘Everything Everywhere’ wins Best Picture en route to Oscars

Gold Derby is backstage at the 34th Producers Guild of America Awards on Saturday, February 25 in order to bring you all the up-to-date details on the presenters, nominees and winners. (See the complete winners list.) Senior editor Marcus James Dixon and associate editor Latasha Ford are in the press room and will let us all know every time something newsworthy happens. Read on for our 2023 PGA Awards live blog.

As a reminder, these kudos are non-televised. However, for the first time ever, Gold Derby is airing a live streaming show with host Rob Licuria, senior editors Denton Davidson, Daniel Montgomery and Matt Noble and contributor Sebastian Ochoa Mendozawatch it right here.

The PGA Awards honor the best producers of features, documentaries, series and specials, as voted on by more than 8,000 members of the producing guild. The 10 nominated films for the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Best Picture are “Avatar: The Way of Water,” “The Banshees of Inisherin,” “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever,” “Elvis,” “Everything Everywhere All the Time,” “The Fabelmans,” “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery,” “TAR,” “Top Gun: Maverick” and “The Whale.”

Since 2009, both the PGA and the Academy Awards have picked Best Picture with ranked choice voting. The PGA has been one of the most reliable Oscar predictors around, thanks in large part to the fact that both the guild and the academy use the the preferential ballot to determine a Best Picture victor. Since 2009, the PGA has forecast 11 of 14 Oscar champs.

SEE Oscar Best Picture Gallery: History of Every Academy Award-Winning Movie

Keep refreshing/reloading this 2023 PGA Awards live blog to see all the winners

7:30 p.m. —  Here we go! The 34th annual ceremony officially begins at The Beverly Hilton Hotel. Daveed Diggs will make the introduction and Hannah Einbinder will present the first award for Best Animated Feature. People are still taking their seats, so things should kick off soon!

7:50 p.m. — Diggs jokes the show is already going long so the elaborate production numbers will be cut. Then, Einbinder finally hits the stage to hand out the night’s first big award — Best Animated Feature. The nominees are “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio,” “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On,” “Minions: The Rise of Gru,” “Puss in Boots: The Last Wish and “Turning Red.” And the winner is…”Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio”! No surprise here, it was the top pick in our Gold Derby odds and seems to be steamrolling its way to an Oscar. Del Toro is in the building to accept his award.

8:15 p.m. — Next up, Monica Barbaro and Jay Ellis will set up the Best Picture nominees. Clip number one will be “Top Gun: Maverick.” Next B.J. Novak presents the Norman Lear Achievement Award to Mindy Kaling. Novak brings up a few famous episodes from “The Office.” A clip package of Kaling’s work follows before she hits the stage to accept her award.

8:17 p.m. — Eugenio Debez will present the next award — Best TV Drama Series. The nominees are “Andor,” “Better Call Saul,” “Ozark,” “Severance” and “The White Lotus: Sicily.” And the winner is…”The White Lotus: Sicily”! Mike White is not there to accept the award, but two other producers accept on his behalf.

8:30 p.m. — Hong Chau and Brendan Fraser are now on stage to present the clip for “The Whale.” Next, Dave Burd (“Lil Dicky”) for Best TV Variety Program. The nominees are “Daily Show with Trevor Noah,” “Jimmy Kimmel Live!,” “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver,” “Late Show with Stephen Colbert” and “Saturday Night Live.” And the winner is…”Last Wee Tonight with John Oliver”! John Oliver is not there to accept, but three of his producing colleagues do on his behalf.

8:45 p.m. — Paul Dano and Michelle Williams take the stage to show the clip for “The Fabelmans,” followed by Ron Howard presenting the Milestone Award to Michael de Luca and Pam Abdy.

9:03 p.m. —  Mo Amir is on stage to present the award for Best TV Reality Series. The nominees are “The Amazing Race,” “Lizzo’s Watch Out For the Big Grrrls,” “RuPaul’s Drag Race,” “Top Chef” and “The Voice.” And the winner is…”Lizzo’s Watch Out For the Big Grrrls”! The Grammy-winning singer is not there to accept.

9:12 p.m. — Diego Luna is next on stage to present Best Documentary Feature. The nominees here are “All That Breathes,” “Descendant,” “Fire of Love,” “Navalny,” “Nothing Compares,” “Retrograde” and “The Territory.” And the winner is…”Navalny”!

9:25 p.m. — Cate Blanchett presents a clip from “Tar” before Stephen Colbert takes the stage to present a bunch of fake awards. Do we really have time for this?! Now Anjelah Johnson-Reyes is on stage to present Best Non-Fiction Series. The nominees are “30 for 30,” “60 Minutes,” “George Carlin’s American Dream,” “Lucy and Desi” and “Stanley Tucci: Searching for Italy.” And the winner is…”Stanley Tucci: Searching For Italy”! He is not there to accept his award.

9:35 p.m. — Kate Hudson and Leslie Odom Jr. present a clip for “Glass Onion.” Next Patricia Arquette shares an In Memoriam video. Billy Eichner will now present Best TV Movie. The nominees are “Disney’s Pinocchio,” “Fire Island,” “”Hocus Pocus 2,” “Prey” and “Weird: The Al Yankovic Story.” And the winner is…”Weird: The Al Yankovic Story”! Weird Al is not in the building.

9:57 p.m. — Angela Bassett presents the “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” clip before Danielle Deadwyler emerges to honor “Till” with the Stanley Kramer Award. Moving along, Bob Odenkirk presents Best Limited Series. The nominees are “The Dropout,” “Inventing Anna,” “Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story,” “Obi-Wan Kenobi” and “Pam & Tommy.” And the winner is…”The Dropout”! In her acceptance speech, the producer says “Thank you to my co-nominees for not winning.”

10:40 p.m. — Austin Butler takes the stage next to show a clip of “Elvis.” Next, Sherri Lansing is presenting Tom Cruise with the David O. Selznick Award. After a 15 minute clip package, Cruise finally takes the stage. Next up, Nicole Byer reminds everyone about awards that were handed out earlier in the week. She tells the audience not to clap because it will take up too much time.

10:45 p.m. — Jamie Lee Curtis, Stephanie Hsu, Ke Huy Quan and Michelle Yeoh present a clip for “Everything Everywhere All At Once.” Next, Sandra Oh presents Best TV Comedy. The nominees are “Abbott Elementary,” “Barry,” “The Bear,” “Hacks” and “Only Murders in the Building.” And the winner is…”The Bear”!

11:00 p.m. — Robert Rodriguez presents a clip for “Avatar: The Way of Water” before Sacha Baron Cohen arrives to present the night’s biggest award: Best Picture. For a quick refresher, the nominees are “Avatar: The Way of Water,” “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever,” “Elvis,” “Everything Everywhere All At Once,” “The Fabelmans,” “Glass Onion,” “Tar,” “Top Gun: Maverick” and “The Whale.” And the winner is…”Everything Everywhere All At Once.”  That’s great for the film heading into the Oscars on March 12.

More News from GoldDerby