DGA Awards winners list in all 11 categories

The 75th Directors Guild of America Awards took place on Saturday, February 18 at 7:30 p.m. PT with Judd Apatow hosting the in-person, non-televised ceremony. These kudos honor the best helmers of the year in movies and television, as voted on by more than 18,000 members of the directing guild. Scroll down for the 2023 DGA Awards winners list (plus the complete running order) in three film and eight TV categories.

The all-important feature film category is one of the most telling bellwethers for the Best Director Oscar. The guild and the academy have only disagreed eight times over the past seven decades, with last year’s champ Jane Campion (“The Power of the Dog”) claiming both prizes. This year, four of the guild’s nominees also reaped Oscar bids: Todd Field (“Tár”), Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”), Martin McDonagh (“The Banshees of Inisherin”) and Steven Spielberg (“The Fabelmans”). The fifth DGA nominee, Joseph Kosinski (“Top Gun: Maverick”), was replaced by Ruben Ostlund (“Triangle of Sadness”) at the Academy Awards.

SEE Oscar Best Director Gallery: Every Winner In Academy Award History

Another film category that pundits had their eyes on is the first-time director race, where the nominees were Alice Diop (“Saint Omer”), Audrey Diwan (“Happening”), John Patton Ford (“Emily the Criminal”), Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović (“Murina”) and Charlotte Wells (“Aftersun”). And the five documentary feature directors nominated were Sara Dosa (“Fire of Love”), Matthew Heineman (“Retrograde”), Laura Poitras (“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”), Daniel Roher (“Navalny”) and Shaunak Sen (“All That Breathes”).

On the TV side, the drama series lineup was led by two episodes of “Severance” as well as one each of “Better Call Saul,” “Euphoria” and “Ozark.” And the comedy series director nominees hailed from “Barry,” “The Bear,” “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Wednesday” and “The White Lotus: Sicily.”

Here are the complete results (and running order, subject to change) of the 2023 DGA Awards, with winners denoted in gold:

Best Film Documentary Director — presented by Jason Bateman
X — Sara Dosa (“Fire of Love”)
Matthew Heineman (“Retrograde”)
Laura Poitras (“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”)
Daniel Roher (“Navalny”)
Shaunak Sen (“All That Breathes”)

*Special presentation to The Daniels by Stephanie Hsu

Best TV Variety Special Directing — presented by Kumail Nanjiani
Ian Berger (“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah Presents Jordan Klepper Fingers the Pulse – Hungary for Democracy”)
Hamish Hamilton (“Super Bowl LVI Halftime Show”)
James Merriman (“Norman Lear: 100 Years of Music and Laughter”)
Marcus Raboy (“Mark Twain Prize 2022: Celebrating Jon Stewart”)
X — Glenn Weiss (“The 75th Annual Tony Awards”)

Best TV Variety Series Directing — presented by Kumail Nanjiani
Paul G. Casey (“Real Time with Bill Maher” for “#2010”)
Jim Hoskinson (“The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” for “#1333”)
David Paul Meyer (“The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” for “Brandi Carlile”)
X — Liz Patrick (“Saturday Night Live” for “Jack Harlow”)
Paul Pennolino (“Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” for “Afghanistan”)

*Special presentation to Martin McDonagh

*Frank Capra Achievement Award to Mark Hansson

Best Children’s Program Directing — presented by Billy Eichner and Christina Ricci
Tim Federle (“Better Nate Than Ever”)
Bonnie Hunt (“Amber Brown” for “I, Amber Brown”)
Dean Israelite (“Are You Afraid of the Dark?” for “The Tale of Room 13”)
Michael Lembeck (“Snow Day”)
X — Anne Renton (“Best Foot Forward” for “Halloween”)

Best TV Reality Program Directing — presented by Billy Eichner and Christina Ricci
Joseph Guidry (“The Big Brunch” for “Carb Loading Brunch”)
Carrie Havel (“The Go-Big Show” for “Only One Can Win”)
Rich Kim (“Lego Masters” for “Jurass-brick World”)
Michael Shea (“FBOY Island” for “Do You Like Cats?”)
X — Ben Simms (“Running Wild with Bear Grylls” for “Florence Pugh in the Volcanic Rainforests of Costa Rica”)

*Special presentation to Joseph Kosinski by Jerry Bruckheimer

*Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award to Valdez Flagg

Best TV Movie/Miniseries Directing — presented by Aubrey Plaza
Eric Appel (“Weird: The Al Yankovic Story”)
Deborah Chow (“Obi-Wan Kenobi”)
Jeremy Podeswa (“Station Eleven” for “Unbroken Circle”)
X — Helen Shaver (“Station Eleven” for “Who’s There?”)
Tom Verica (“Inventing Anna” for “The Devil Wore Anna”)

Best Film First-Time Directing — presented by Mike Newell
Alice Diop (“Saint Omer”)
Audrey Diwan (“Happening”)
John Patton Ford (“Emily the Criminal”)
Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović (“Murina”)
X — Charlotte Wells (“Aftersun”)

*Special presentation to Steven Spielberg by Denis Villeneuve

Best Commercial Directing — presented by Regina Hall and James Marsden
Juan Cabral (John Lewis & Partners’ “For All Life’s Moments” and Apple’s “Share the Joy”)
X — Kim Gehrig (Apple’s “Accessibility” and “Run Baby Run”)
Craig Gillespie (Apple’s “Hard Knocks,” Jimmy John’s’ “Problem” and Nissan’s “Thrill Driver”)
David Shane (Apple’s “Detectives,” ITVX’s “Smile” and Procter & Gamble’s “Traffic Stop”)
Ivan Zachariáš (Apple’s “Data Auction” and Upwork’s “This Is How We Work Now”)

Best TV Comedy Directing — presented by Regina Hall and James Marsden
Tim Burton (“Wednesday” for “Wednesday’s Child is Full of Woe”)
X — Bill Hader (“Barry” for “710N”)
Amy Sherman-Palladino (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” for “How Do You Get to Carnegie Hall?”)
Christopher Storer (“The Bear” for “Review”)
Mike White (“The White Lotus: Sicily” for “BYG”)

*Special presentation to Todd Field by Paul Thomas Anderson

*Lifetime Achievement Award to Robert A. Fishman

Best TV Drama Directing — presented by Anna Kendrick
Jason Bateman (“Ozark” for “A Hard Way To Go”)
Vince Gilligan (“Better Call Saul” for “Waterworks”)
X — Sam Levinson (“Euphoria” for “Stand Still Like the Hummingbird”)
Aoife McArdle (“Severance” for “Hide and Seek”)
Ben Stiller (“Severance” for “The We We Are”)

Best Film Director — presented by Chloe Zhao
Todd Field (“TÁR”)
Joseph Kosinski (“Top Gun: Maverick”)
X — Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (“Everything Everywhere All at Once”)
Martin McDonagh (“The Banshees of Inisherin”)
Steven Spielberg (“The Fabelmans”)

Make your predictions at Gold Derby now. Download our free and easy app for Apple/iPhone devices or Android (Google Play) to compete against legions of other fans plus our experts and editors for best prediction accuracy scores. See our latest prediction champs. Can you top our esteemed leaderboards next? Always remember to keep your predictions updated because they impact our latest racetrack odds, which terrify Hollywood chiefs and stars. Don’t miss the fun. Speak up and share your huffy opinions in our famous forums where 5,000 showbiz leaders lurk every day to track latest awards buzz. Everybody wants to know: What do you think? Who do you predict and why?

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby