When are the Oscars 2021? Academy Awards date, time, and everything to know

The 2021 Oscars will be different than any Academy Awards ceremony in history. Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the show itself will take place in the spring, on April 25, 2021, the latest date in the history of the Oscars. As a result, eligibility was extended as well: movies released through February 28, 2021, were qualified to compete for Oscar nominations in 2021, meaning films like “Judas and the Black Messiah,” “Minari,” and “Nomadland” — all of which debuted in wide release during February — were eligible for the 2021 Academy Awards.

Here’s what to know about the 2021 Oscars, including how to watch, who is nominated, and what time it starts.

When are the Oscars?

The 2021 Oscars take place on Sunday, April 25, 2021. The show was previously scheduled for February 28, 2021, but forced to move because of the coronavirus pandemic. Coverage of the ceremony begins at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT and airs live on ABC. The 2021 Oscars ceremony itself starts at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

What time do the Oscars start?

The 93rd annual Oscars ceremony officially starts at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on April 25, 2021. The show will air live on ABC and be available to stream online via ABC.com and the ABC app provided the user has a cable subscription. 

When does Oscar voting start?

The voting period for the 2021 Oscars starts Thursday, April 15, 2021, and ends Tuesday, April 20, 2021.

When are the Oscar nominations?

The Oscar nominations were announced on Monday, March 15, 2021. The nominations ceremony streamed live online via YouTube and also aired on ABC. Priyanka Chopra Jonas and Nick Jonas handled the nominations announcement, which was split into two parts.

Who is nominated for the 2021 Oscars?

Among the nominees are “Nomadland,” which received six nominations including Best Picture, Best Director for Chloe Zhao, and Best Actress for Frances McDormand“Mank,” which received a 2021 Oscars best 10 nominations, including Best Picture, Best Director for David Fincher, Best Actor for Gary Oldman, and Best Supporting Actress for Amanda Seyfried; “The Trial of the Chicago 7,” a six-time nominee, including Best Picture and Best Supporting Actor for Sacha Baron Cohen; “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” stars Chadwick Boseman for Best Actor and Viola Davis for Best Actress; “Promising Young Woman,” nominations for Best Picture, Best Director for Emerald Fennell, and Best Actress for Carey Mulligan; and “Minari,” a nominee for Best Picture, Best Director for Lee Isaac Chung, Best Actor for Steven Yeun.

Who is hosting the Oscars?

There is no host for the 2021 Oscars. The ceremony itself is being produced by a trio of Hollywood veterans: Jesse Collins, Stacey Sher, and director Steven Soderbergh. “We’re thrilled and terrified in equal measure. Because of the extraordinary situation we’re all in, there’s an opportunity to focus on the movies and the people who make them in a new way, and we hope to create a show that really FEELS like the movies we all love,” said Collins, Sher, and Soderbergh in a joint statement.

Are the Oscars streaming online?

The 2021 Oscars ceremony is available to stream online via ABC.com or the ABC app. Hulu Live and YouTube TV subscribers are also able to watch the Academy Awards online.

Why is it called the Oscars?

The Academy Awards trophy is officially called the Academy Award of Merit. But everyone knows the statue and ceremony by its unofficial nickname: the Oscars. Why is the statue called an Oscar? According to the official Academy Awards website, “While the origins of the moniker aren’t clear, a popular story has it that upon seeing the trophy for the first time, Academy librarian (and eventual executive director) Margaret Herrick remarked that it resembled her Uncle Oscar. The Academy didn’t adopt the nickname officially until 1939, but it was widely known enough by 1934 that Hollywood columnist Sidney Skolsky used it in a piece referring to Katharine Hepburn’s first Best Actress win.” Some other notes about the Oscars statue: it weighs just over eight-and-a-half pounds and stands 13 and a half inches tall.

More News from GoldDerby