Golden Globe Cecil B. DeMille Award: History of every recipient

The Cecil B. DeMille Award is an annual prize given at the Golden Globes for “outstanding contributions to the world of entertainment.” The Hollywood Foreign Press Association selects its recipients from a wide variety of actors, directors, writers and producers.

The award is named for legendary filmmaker Cecil B. DeMille, who was its very first recipient in 1952. Only twice since 1952 has the award not been given: once in 1976 and again in 2008. The 2008 omission was due to the Writer’s Guild strike which forced the HFPA to cancel its annual telecast. That year’s recipient, Steven Spielberg, was deferred to the 2009 ceremony.

Tour through our photo gallery to see a history of every recipient of the Cecil B. DeMille Award, including the 2023 recipient Eddie Murphy, plus previous honorees Jane Fonda, Tom Hanks, Jeff Bridges, Oprah Winfrey, Meryl Streep, Denzel Washington, George Clooney and more.