Who Needs an Emmy to Reach EGOT?

Only 16 people have won the awards grand slam known as the EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Tony). They are (in chronological order of achievement) composer Richard Rodgers, actress Helen Hayes, actress Rita Moreno, actor John Gielgud, actress Audrey Hepburn, composer Marvin Hamlisch, orchestrator Jonathan Tunick, writer/director/composer Mel Brooks, director Mike Nichols, actress Whoopi Goldberg, producer Scott Rudin, composer Robert Lopez, singer and actor John Legend, composer Tim Rice, composer Andrew Lloyd Webber and composer Alan Menken.

There are a total of nine people who have won a combination of the Tony, Oscar, and Grammy without an Emmy Award. The five living people are featured in this photo gallery because they could still achieve the EGOT. They are singer/songwriter Elton John, composer Benj Pasek, composer Justin Paul and composer Stephen Sondheim.

The five deceased people are actor Henry Fonda, composer Oscar Hammerstein, composer Alan Jay Lerner, composer Frank Loesser, and composer Jule Styne.