Who needs an Oscar to reach EGOT?

Only 18 people have won the awards grand slam known as the EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Tony). They are (in chronological order of achievement) composer Richard Rodgers, actress Helen Hayes, actress Rita Moreno, actor John Gielgud, actress Audrey Hepburn, composer Marvin Hamlisch, orchestrator Jonathan Tunick, writer/director/composer Mel Brooks, director Mike Nichols, actress Whoopi Goldberg, producer Scott Rudin, composer Robert Lopez, singer and actor John Legend, composer Tim Rice, composer Andrew Lloyd Webber, composer Alan Menken, actress/producer Jennifer Hudson and actress Viola Davis.

Tour our photo gallery above for information about the 28 living people who just need an Academy Award to achieve EGOT. They are: actor Andre De Shields, actress Cynthia Erivo, composer/producer Anne Garefino, actor Hugh Jackman, actor James Earl Jones, composer and producer Quincy Jones, actress Rachel Bay Jones, composer John Kander, composer Tom Kitt, composer/actress Cyndi Lauper, composer Alex Lacamoire, producer Stan Lathan, actress Katrina Lenk, actress Audra McDonald, actress Bette Midler, composer and actor Lin-Manuel Miranda, actress Cynthia Nixon, composer/producer Trey Parker, actor Ben Platt, actor Billy Porter, composer Marc Shaiman, composer Bill Sherman, actor Ari’el Stachel, composer/producer Matt Stone, composer Charles Strouse, actress Lily Tomlin, actor Dick Van Dyke and composer/writer David Yazbeck.  Please note that Jones received an honorary Oscar but never won in competition, a requirement to be considered an EGOT champion.

There are also eight deceased people who won at the Emmys, Grammys, and Tonys but never prevailed at the Oscars: actor Harry Belafonte (received an honorary Oscar), composer Leonard Bernstein, composer Jerry Bock, composer Martin Charnin, composer Cy Coleman, composer Fred Ebb, actor George Grizzard, actress Julie Harris, and actor James Whitmore.