Lucille Lortel Awards 2012: Complete List of Nominations

Nominations for the 27th annual edition of the Lucille Lortel Awards were announced Thursday.  The original off-Broadway production of the tuner "Once," based on the 2006 Oscar-winning film and now playing on Broadway, reaped a leading seven bids. The New York premiere of the British play "Tribes" earned six nominations.

In all, 30 productions are in contention across 14 categories. Winners will be announced on May 6 at a ceremony at the NYU Skirball Center. "Voca People" will receive a special award for outstanding alternative theatrical experience. 

Best Play
"Blood and Gifts"
"Milk Like Sugar"
"Sons of the Prophet"
"The Big Meal"
"The School For Lies"

Best Musical
"Queen of the Mist"
"SILENCE! The Musical"
"The Blue Flower"
"The Shaggs: Philosophy of the World"

Best Revival
"Blood Knot"
"Edward Albee's The Lady from Dubuque"
"Look Back in Anger"
"The Cherry Orchard"
"The Maids"

Best Solo Show
"An Iliad"
"The Devil's Music: The Life and Blues of Bessie Smith"

Best Lead Actor
Santino Fontana, "Sons of the Prophet"
Russell Harvard, "Tribes"
Hamish Linklater, "The School For Lies"
Jefferson Mays, "Blood and Gifts"
Jay O. Sanders, "Titus Andronicus"

Best Lead Actress
Sanaa Lathan, "By the Way, Meet Vera Stark"
Cristin Milioti, "Once"
Carey Mulligan, "Through a Glass Darkly"
Molly Ranson, "Carrie"
Mary Testa, "Queen of the Mist"

Best Featured Actor
David Wilson Barnes, "The Big Meal"
Adam Driver, "Look Back in Anger"
Alvin Epstein, "The Cherry Orchard"
Peter Francis James, "Edward Albee’s The Lady from Dubuque"
Jeff Perry, "Tribes"

Best Featured Actress
Anita Gillette, "The Big Meal"
Kimberly Hebert Gregory, "By the Way, Meet Vera Stark"
Marin Mazzie, "Carrie"
Tonya Pinkins, "Milk Like Sugar"
Mare Winningham, "Tribes"

Best Director
Jo Bonney, "By the Way, Meet Vera Stark"
David Cromer, "Tribes"
Sam Gold, "Look Back in Anger"
Sam Gold, "The Big Meal"
John Tiffany, "Once"

Best Choreographer
Chase Brock, "The Blue Flower"
Bill Castellino, "Ionescopade"
Christopher Gattelli, "SILENCE! The Musical"
Steven Hoggett, "Once"
Annie-B Parson, "The Broken Heart"

Best Scenic Design
Bob Crowley, "Once"
Lauren Helpern, "4000 Miles"
Andrew Lieberman, "Look Back in Anger"
Adrianne Lobel, "Galileo"
David Zinn, "The Select (The Sun Also Rises)"

Best Costume Design
ESosa, "By the Way, Meet Vera Stark"
Toni-Leslie James, "Milk Like Sugar"
William Ivey Long, "The School For Lies"
Ilona Somogyi, "Maple and Vine"
Catherine Zuber, "Death Takes a Holiday"

Best Lighting Designv Natasha Katz, "Once"
Keith Parham, "Tribes"
Justin Townsend, "Unnatural Acts"
David Weiner, "Through a Glass Darkly"
Scott Zielinski, "An Iliad"

Best Sound Design
Mark Bennett, "An Iliad"
Clive Goodwin, "Once"
Daniel Kluger, "Tribes"
Matt Tierney and Ben Williams, "The Select (The Sun Also Rises)"
David Van Tieghem, "Through a Glass Darkly"