Lucille Lortel Awards 2013: Complete List of Nominations

Nominations for the 28th annual edition of the Lucille Lortel Awards were announced Wednesday.

Signature Theater's revival of August Wilson's 1990 Pulitzer-winning play "The Piano Lesson" leads with six nominations while Manhattan Theater Club's new musical "Murder Ballad" reaped five bids. 

In all, 33 productions are in contention across 14 categories. Winners will be announced on May 5 at a ceremony at the NYU Skirball Center. (See full report here.)

Outstanding Play
"The Flick"
"The Whale" 

Outstanding Musical
"Murder Ballad"
"The Other Josh Cohen"
"Skippyjon Jones"

Outstanding Revival
"All In The Timing"
"My Children! My Africa!"
"The Piano Lesson"
"Talley's Folly"

Outstanding Solo Show
"All the Rage"
"Title and Deed"

Outstanding Lead Actor
Danny Burstein, "Talley’s Folly"
Brandon J. Dirden, "The Piano Lesson"
Daniel Everidge, "Falling"
Shuler Hensley, "The Whale"
Aasif Mandvi, "Disgraced"

Outstanding Lead Actress
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, "Neva"
America Ferrera, "Bethany"
Vanessa Redgrave, "The Revisionist"
Roslyn Ruff, "The Piano Lesson"
Sharon Washington, "Wild With Happy"

Outstanding Featured Actor
David Wilson Barnes, "Don’t Go Gentle"
Chuck Cooper, "The Piano Lesson"
Zach Grenier, "Storefront Church"
Jake Gyllenhaal, "If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet"
Mark Nelson, "My Name Is Asher Lev"

Outstanding Featured Actress
Eisa Davis, "Luck of the Irish"
Annie Funke, "If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet"
Rebecca Naomi Jones, "Murder Ballad"
Amanda Quaid, "Luck of the Irish"
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, "What Rhymes with America"

Outstanding Director
Sam Gold, "The Flick"
Anne Kauffman, "Belleville"
Tina Landau, "A Civil War Christmas"
James Macdonald, "Cock"
Ruben Santiago-Hudson, "The Piano Lesson"

Outstanding Choreographer
George De La Peña, "A Midsummer Night’s Dream"
Christopher Gattelli, "Dogfight"
Kyle Mullins, "TRIASSIC PARQ: The Musical"
Alex Sanchez, "Giant"
Doug Varone, "Murder Ballad"

Outstanding Scenic Design
Beowulf Boritt, "If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet"
Miriam Buether, "Cock"
Clint Ramos, "Wild With Happy"
Louisa Thompson, "Detroit"
Mark Wendland, "Murder Ballad"

Outstanding Costume Design
Toni-Leslie James, "A Civil War Christmas"
Jessica Pabst, "The Whale"
Clint Ramos, "Wild With Happy"
Emily Rebholz, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"
Anita Yavich, "Golden Child"

Outstanding Lighting Design
Jane Cox, "The Flick"
Rui Rita, "The Piano Lesson"
Ben Stanton, "Belleville"
Ben Stanton, "Murder Ballad"
Scott Zielinski, "A Civil War Christmas"

Outstanding Sound Design
Leah Gelpe, "Slowgirl"
Bray Poor, "The Flick"
Shane Rettig, "Detroit ’67"
Jane Shaw, "Jackie"
Matt Tierney, "Detroit"


Lifetime Achievement Award
Todd Haimes

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee
Neil LaBute

Outstanding Body of Work Award
Theatre Development Fund

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience
"Old Hats"