Writers Guild Awards 2012: Complete List of Nominations

Writers Guild Awards Oscars Lincoln Zero Dark Thirty Argo Silver Linings Playbook 13579086

The Writers Guild of America celebrates its 65th annual kudos this year. Winners will be revealed in joint ceremonies on Feb. 17 at the Marriott in Los Angeles and B.B. Kings in New York. 

Because these kudos only consider scripts written under the guild's guidelines or those of several international partners, several leading Oscar contenders are missing. 

Reaping WGA bids were three of the five nominees for Best Original Screenplay — "Flight," "Moonrise Kingdom" and "Zero Dark Thirty" — as well as "The Master" and "Looper."

Oscar nominees "Amour" (by writer-director Michael Haneke) and "Django Unchained" (by non-guild member Quentin Tarantino) were ineligible with the WGA.


"Flight," by John Gatins

"Looper, by Rian Johnson

"The Master," by Paul Thomas Anderson

"Moonrise Kingdom," by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola

"Zero Dark Thirty," by Mark Boal

The WGA roster includes four of the nominees for Best Adapted Screenplay — "Argo," "Life of Pi," "Lincoln" and "Silver Linings Playbook" — as well as "Perks of Being a  Wallflower."

The fifth Oscar nominee — "Beasts of the Southern Wild" — was ineligible for the WGA.  


"Argo, screenplay by Chris Terrio; based on a selection from The Master of Disguise by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired Magazine article “The Great Escape” by Joshuah Bearman

"Life of Pi," Screenplay by David Magee; based on the novel by Yann Martel

"Lincoln," screenplay by Tony Kushner; based in part on the book Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin

"The Perks of Being a Wallflower," screenplay by Stephen Chbosky; based on his book

"Silver Linings Playbook," screenplay by David O. Russell; Based on the novel by Matthew Quick; The Weinstein Company

While 282 films are eligible for Best Picture at the Oscars, only 68 of these had original scripts that could vie for WGA recognition while just 44 had adapted screenplays that could contend. 

Last year, only five of the 10 WGA nominees went on to contend at the Oscars. In 2010, six of the 10 WGA nominees went on to compete at the Oscars while only four managed to do this in 2009.  

Three of last year's Oscar nominees for Best Original Screenplay — "The Artist," "Margin Call" and "A Separation" — were ineligible with the WGA as was one of the Best Adapted Screenplay Oscar contenders — "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy." 

Both of last year's WGA winners went on to repeat at the Oscars. "Midnight in Paris" won Woody Allen his fifth Original Screenplay award from the WGA while Alexander Payne claimed his third Adapted Screenplay prize for "The Descendants," along with collaborators Nax Faxon and Jim Rash

In 2010, Aaron Sorkin won Best Adapted Screenplay at both kudos for "The Social Network." He edged out the adapters of "127 Hours" and "True Grit" for both awards. However, two of his Oscar rivals — "Toy Story 3" and "Winter's Bone" — were ineligible to contend at the WGAs. 

The eventual Oscar winner for Best Original Screenplay — "The King's Speech" — was also ineligible for the WGA award as was another Oscar nominee — "Another Year." Oscar contender Christopher Nolan won that prize for "Inception" edging out, among others, Oscar rivals "The Fighter" and "The Kids Are All Right."

And in 2009, the four WGA contenders deemed Oscar worthy were: WGA winner "The Hurt Locker" which repeated at the Oscars and "A Serious Man" on the original front and eventual champ "Precious" and WGA winner "Up in the Air" on the adapted side. Two of the eventual five Oscar nominees for Best Original Screenplay — "Inglorious Basterds" and "Up" — were ineligible for WGA consideration. Likewise, three of the Best Adapted Screenplay contenders — "District 9," "An Education" and "In the Loop" — were left out of the running by the WGA.

The WGA also recognizes the achievements of the scripters of feature length documentaries. Among those cited by the WGA are two of the five nominees for Best Documentary Feature — "The Invisible War" and "Searching for Sugar Man" — as well as "The Central Park Five," "Mea Maxima Culpa Silence in the House of God," "We Are Legion: The Story of the Hacktivists" and "West of Memphis."


"The Central Park Five," by Sarah Burns and David McMahon and Ken Burns

"The Invisible War," by Kirby Dick

"Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God," by Alex Gibney

"Searching for Sugar Man," by Malik Bendejelloul

"We Are Legion: The Story of the Hacktivists," by Brian Knappenberger

"West of Memphis," by Amy Berg & Billy McMillin